top of page

Who is Sara Elle?

For today's post, I thought I would write a little bit more about who I am. Everyday you see posts from millions of people, updating us about their lives, their interests, or their hobbies, yet we really don't know who they are as a person. Being a personal trainer, I spend a lot of time getting to know my clients, while they are getting to know me, which is something that's really hard to do online, this is why I wanted to take a few moments to share a little more about me, how I started on my fitness journey and why I became a trainer!

I grew up in Vancouver, BC. If you have ever either lived here or been here, you know just how culturally diverse it is. There are all kinds of people and opportunities here which is why I've always loved it so much. Growing up I actually thought I would become a fashion designer, or something in that industry. I loved (and still do love) clothes, although it took me until halfway through my Fashion Marketing program in university to realize it wouldn't be my career.

I have danced most of my life starting at the age of 5, and at 17 I started to discover the gym. Dancing will always have a place in my heart, but discovering strength training changed me in a lot of ways. Before health and fitness became so significant in my life, I was definitely not the ideal picture of health. I've always had a small physique and a fast metabolism, although I wasn't necessarily healthy on the inside. Quarter pounder meals and timbits were among my many favourites. I even remember one time, my friends and I shared an entire spray bottle of whipped cream until it was finished, and then ate a ton more junk food (I'm talking chips, candy, ice cream, chocolate, an entire loaf of white fluffy bread, and Betty Crocker cupcakes with icing, it was deliciously disgusting). My parents (Love you guys!) were the type that almost never bought junk food; "organic" was an everyday word in our house, and our toast always had handfuls of seeds in it, which I absolutely hated, but am very thankful for now. I was young and "health and fitness" just wasn't a priority.

Like a lot of people, going to the gym was extremely intimidating. Most of the time I wouldn't go unless I had a friend to go with and even then I stayed far away from the weight section or any of the big machines. Cardio machines and core exercises were my go to because I could hide in the corner. I was way too nervous that people would judge me for not knowing what I was doing or only being able to lift the 5lbs dumbell. It took me until the end of my graduate year in high school to be able to walk into the gym and do my thing regardless of what other people were thinking. Something that took me a while to realize is that everyone is there to accomplish a goal, we've all started at different times, and we all have our own strengths and weaknesses. Above all the great reasons to incorporate health and fitness into my life, confidence and happiness are what made it stick.

Why did I want to become a personal trainer?

As a trainer, my job is to pass on my knowledge to my clients and help them reach the goals they desire. Do you know that feeling you get when you find something that is just so great that you want to share it with everyone because maybe it can benefit them the way it benefits you? This is what gets me excited. I found something that helped me in so many aspects of my life. I became happier, I had more energy, and I became confident to be the better version of me. Health and fitness is not just eating healthy and working out, it's a lifestyle. So much about you changes and I want to help other people see those changes for themselves too. I am also pretty introverted, so getting to know a person one on one is definitely easier, and I usually enjoy it more. Each session with my clients is a chance to meet someone new, invite new opportunities into my life, and hopefully pass on some of what has benefitted me so much.

Sara Elle ♡


Creating confidence through health and fitness

Hello! I'm Sara, living in Vancouver BC. I'm an ACE certified personal trainer and have a passion for working in the health and fitness industry to help you reach not only your physical goals but also helping you build confidence within yourself.

bottom of page